Stuck - Del 6

December 19th, 2012.

Harry:

I roll out of bed unconsiously but wake up when I hit the floor with a thomp. It doesn't hurt, as I still have the duvet wrapped around me like an egg roll. Sleepy I push myself up on my elbows and look around the room for a clock. The bright light from the snow shines in through the not fully closed blinds and forces me to squint. The white walls of the room reflecting it doesn't help either. I gasp when I see four red digital numbers light up on the night stand.

"Oh shit!" I get up so fast I slip on the duvet and fall sideways onto the bed and sink down in the soft matress. I struggle a bit to get back control and crawl over to the still sleeping beauty.

"Ash, Ash wake up!" I yell and shake her relaxed body. She doesn't wake up.

"Damn sleeping pills." I say out loud frustrated, I can't wake her up. To be so small those white things could be pretty strong. Especially for a thin, short girl like Aisha. The smaller you are the more they affect you. I let her sleep for another minute while I gather our suitcases and place them at the door so we can simply grab them on our way out. The plane leaves in an hour and I'm stressed out of my mind. We were supposed to leave 50 minutes ago. Irritated I aim a kick at the wardrobe on my way back to Ash. My toe starts to hurt but I don't care. It was a good pain. It made me angry and I always did things faster when I was angry. It doesn't take to long to get to JFK from here, we could still make it.

"Ash you neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed to wake up now." I whine and slap her gently on the cheeks and lift up her eyelids. Her hazel orbs stare empty at me. I quickly close her eyes again, the death glance made me uncomfortable. I preferred when they were full of life. I realize that if we're going to make the flight, we have to get moving NOW. There's no time to lie around waiting.

"Okay lets go." I cheer on myself. I slide my arms under her and lift her body up and throw her over my shoulder. She's not so heavy. I walk across the room and I fling the door open. On my way out I grab one suitcase in each hand as I balance her on my shoulder, praying I won't drop her. She's out like a light, I don't understand how it isn't possible to shake even the slightest bit of conciousness into her. I need to drop one bag to push the elevator button, but after that it goes pretty smooth. The lobby doors open automatically on the way out and Ash is still lying tossed over my shoulder. With a last great effort I get out on the sidewalk and wave for a cab to pull over. A yellow one slows down and nods at me to hop in, while rising his eyebrows in a questioning motion. I know it looks weird, I have a passed out girl on my arm. But there's no need to point it out. The cab driver is nice enough to take the bags meanwhile I gently lift Ash off my shoulder and lay her down in the backseat. I hop in after her and place her head in my lap, so she can keep sleeping. Hopefully she wakes up before we get to the airport. Otherwise I will have a great challenge ahead of me. Her eyelids flutter, that's a good sign. That means she's not deep sleeping. I stroke a strand of hair from her eyes and study the colour of her face features. Light pink lips, black eyelashes, very pale cheeks. Blood flow isn't as good when you're asleep. I bend down and kiss her softly. She hums something unhearable and I wonder what she's dreaming about. It seemed to make her a bit anxious because her body twitches on and off for a minute.

"JFK Airport!" I inform and sink down in the car seat, exhausted from the struggle of getting a girl and two suitcases down from the 14th floor. I know it doesn't take more than 15 minutes to the aiport, but I feel so drowsy. I can't let myself close my eyes. Without realizing the shut anyway and before I know it I've fallen asleep again. Even though I woke up no later than less than half an hour ago.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0